I spend all my free time ogling this nifty synth.

From the Korg official page:

The KAOSSILATOR’s user-friendly touch-pad lets you create musical and rhythmic phrases using any of its 100 synth programs, such as leads, basses, realistic instrument sounds, playable drums and drum patterns. Each time you add a phrase, KAOSSILATOR stacks it on top of the previous phrases you created. The results are as simple – or complex – as you desire. Choose from the 31 available scales, and play in any key. Lay down your groove with any 50 gate-arpeggiator patterns for even more KAOSS!

Enough with the corporate advertising, but it would be a great asset for playing spontaneous live fills and nonsense. I tried it once – it’s easy to get amazingly quirky sounds without any setup hassle. And it’s only a hundred € – which I do not have right now.  Apparently, it is also available as an app for iPad. Which I also do not have. Sigh. Maybe sometime.

Update: I got one! It’s such a fun thing to mess around with. Already used it on stage with about 16 programs, hope to get more familiar with some more progs.

