You know the drill. Top Ten 2012 – that means not only albums/eps/singles that were released in 2012, but the things I listened to continually and/or blew my mind in 2012. 2012 has not been a good music listening year, but rather a good music making year. So lots of output, less input. But maybe something interesting might still catch your ear.

10 Kampfstern – Splosions

I know it’s not exactly kosher to advertise one’s own music. But since we have a category for “Shameless self-advertising” here on headbugz, I figured it’s alright. And to be frank, I listened to my own tracks a lot this year because of frequent rehearsals, statistically speaking. We had a great performance @ Waldeck-Freakquenz 2012, thanks to everyone who was involved – again. Video credit goes to the amazing Haegi @ The Barn. 2013 will be the birthdate of the album “Splosions”. It will be done when it’s done.

9 Fever Ray – Fever Ray

I know, they’re already on since forever, but I just started listening and digging it recently.

8 Warren Suicide – Requiem for a Missing Link

7 Rasputina – Sister Kinderhook

Another album by cello project Rasputina made the list this year. Can’t listen to it all the time, but it has its moments.

6 The Presets – Pacifica

I still have not really gotten into their rather weird new album, but it rotated frequently in the last part of this year. Like the last album, Apocalypso, it will probably ripen with time like an exquisite cheese or wine.

5 Woodkid – Iron EP

I’m not sure whether I really like the music or not, but the overall impression is overwhelming. Especially the video style is haunting in its atmosphere and implications… Could have seen him live and for free because an old friend of Thias’s was playing support for him in Hamburg, but sickness got in the way. This year, maybe.

4 Andy Stott – Luxury Problems

Just space out.

3 Devin Townsend – Epicloud

Unlike his last album, ‘Deconstruction’, this one was an instalike. Saw him live again this year and it was his best concert yet. Seeing ‘Grace’ performed live, invisible choire or not, was an incredible experience. Thank you Devin, wishing you all the best for 2013!

2 Burial – Kindred EP

Shrouded dupstep by Burial has been my tube soundtrack for some time now. Dizzyingly beautiful soundscapes on this EP. Also made some interesting remixes (Thom York, Jamie Woon etc.).

1 Firewater – Psychopharmacology

Alltime favorite band around Tod A. resurfaced in my playlists last year.

Enhanced by Zemanta
